Interview one: 

Mingyu: Where were you born?

Interviewee: I was born in Cairo Egypt.

Mingyu :How long have you lived in Australia?

I : 15Years.

M: What languages can you speak fluently?

I: English.

M: What languages do you speak at home?

I: English and Arabic.

M: What languages are spoken in St. George Coptic Orthodox church?

I: Egyptian Arabic which is the Masri and English.

M: What languages are used during religious ritual?

I: Masri, Ancient Greek and English sometimes.

M: What languages are used for social interactions in this space?

I: English.

M: Do you or your community members switch between languages within a conversation?

I: very often.

M: If so, why is this non-English language used?

I: Sometimes we have some non-Arabic speakers coming around, and sometimes we just need to use the expressions that only exist in English.

M: What is the significance of having this language in this space/why is it important to this community?

I: Because we need to keep the heritage and tradition of our community.

Interview two:

M: Where were you born?

I : Sydney

M: If you weren’t born in Australia, how long have you lived in Australia?

I: 26 years

M: What languages can you speak fluently?

I:  English, Arabic, and French

M: What languages do you speak at home?

I: English and Arabic

M: What languages are spoken in this church?

I:. English, Arabic and some Mandarin.

M: What languages are used during religious ritual?

I: Arabic and Greek mainly.

M: What languages are used for social interactions in this space?

I: Mainly English and Arabic, but we do have some Chinese speaker here.

M: Do you or your community members switch between languages within a conversation?

I: Yes, we almost do it all the time, sometimes it’s just hard to fine the correct words in Arabic, and it’s easier to speak English with each other.

M: If so, why is this non-English language used?

I: Well, we are still one Egyptians community.

M: What is the significance of having this language in this space/why is it important to this community?

I: This is mother language, even though some of us are born here, it is still important for us to keep the cultural heritage and using Arabic is one important approach for keeping our culture.

M = Mingyu Tang

Mingyu Tang z3475282

 

